Oxblood and nude ombre manicure with Essie “Skirting the Issue”

I’ve been really into oxblood red this season, so when I saw Skirting the Issue from Essie’s Stylenomics collection, I got it immediately. This manicure was done with Sally Hansen Complete Salon Manicure in 140 Peachy Keen with Essie Skirting The Issue on the tips. Usually when I do a gradient manicure, I use a makeup sponge to put the second color on the tips. This time I wasn’t going for subtlety, so I just painted Skirting The Issue on the tips. I’d heard some negative things about Skirting the Issue, but the formula worked perfectly for what I used it for. It does have to be layered, but it dries quickly and has a lovely jelly finish. I can’t wait to try it alone.

On the other hand, this Sally Hansen color is a nightmare to apply. It took me 5 coats just to get something that wasn’t streaky! I have some other Sally Hansen Complete Salon Manicure polishes that I don’t have trouble with, so I think it’s just this color. Either way, I think I’ll have to replace this color with a different polish.

Blood red ombre manicure using Essie "Skirting the Issue"

Burgundy gradient nails with Essie Skirting the Issue

Burgundy ombre manicure using Essie "Skirting the Issue"

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Oxblood and nude ombre manicure with Essie “Skirting the Issue””

  1. phonicfrog says :

    I love how you can see the change in the strength of the red as the colour fades back, gorgeous! Also, I’ve nominated your lovely blog for a Liebster award, all the details are over at http://badmani.wordpress.com/2012/11/26/liebster-award-awesomeness/

Leave a Reply

